My Day of Vintage.

Saturday was my vintage day.  I made a list of all the places I wanted to go to (6) and mapped it all out, both walking and public transit routes.  I even woke up extra early (10:05) and managed to leave by 11:30 am with two of my roommates in tow.  We started off at Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market at 39th St. between 9th and 10th Ave.  They had a lot of jewelry and some great vintage pieces.  Most of the items were fairly inexpensive except I hated the fact that the vendors were trying to explain designers to me and tell me how important they are.  Yes, I know what Bottega Venetta is, I do live in fashion magazines and attend FIT, I just don’t feel like buying the purse no matter how great of a deal you seem to think it is.  But aside from that I ended up buying a partial crop top and a gold semi-choker.

Entrance to the Hell's Kitchen Flea Market

Cute vintage glasses, but I didn't buy them.

One of the vendors

Kelly and I on a fab vintage couch.

A rather large beaver fur coat.

Shirt and Necklace from Hell's Kitchen Flea Market

Then we walked down to 25th St between 7th and 6th Aves where there were a few indoor flea markets which had a decent amount of designer clothes and accessories as well as home furnishings and antiques.  While I fell in love with some items such as a $200 Hermes silk scarf and a $175 one hundred year old hand mirror (which the man said he would give to me for $125) , I did not buy anything here.

100 year old hand mirror.

Then we went took the F down to Union Sq. and then hopped on the L train over to 1st Ave to go to some vintage stores.  First on our stop was No Relation Vintage which has amazing prices, but of the seven things I tried on I only ended up buying one shirt (for $10) even though I really wanted to walk out with a pair of high waisted jean shorts.

Shirt from No Relation Vintage.

Next we went to Buffalo Exchange which was super crowded because they were having a $1 sale in honor of Earth Day.  Here I tried on a lot of clothes and even asked a poor sales person to take down a mannequin which I then asked her to undress so I could try on the whole outfit.  While the silk high waisted pants were completely see through and ill fitting, the suede and lace leotard was perfectly lovely and oh so Celine, so I purchased it.  I ended up getting it for $5.50 because the buttons of the bottom of the leotard were broken.  And I also bought an American Apparel shirt dress there for only $17.

Suede Leotard tucked into high waisted jeans.

American Apparel Shirt Dress with my great-grandmother's gold belt.

And that is the end of my lovely shopping day.  I wish I had discovered the flea markets sooner because they are so close and filled with some really amazing pieces.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Clothes

Leave a Reply

