Meet the Models

I am part of that small portion of the population that prefers models on the cover of magazines but recently that has been a growing trend, especially with the ever fabulous British Vogue.  Over the past few years they have featured models on the covers of about half of their magazines.  And personally I find this is the best way to go.  They have a presence on the covers (it is part of their job description) and they entice people to flip through the magazine.

I once heard a quote that has stuck with me.  It was, “Celebrities sell the magazine but models sell the clothes.”  At the time I heard this I agreed wholeheartedly, but now I think that models might be able to sell the magazines on their own.  Remember, there was a time when it was only models on the cover, Ms. Anna Wintour changed that.  Grace Coddington is on my side of the debate.  She once said, “There are no models on covers anymore.  They’re all actors because they’re what sells.” She goes on to say, “An actor often dictates what you’re going to get.  I find that annoying.  And I’m incredibly shy, so they scare the pants off me.  But I feel perfectly comfortable with the models.  They’re like my kids.”

I am intrigued by models, there is something about them that is so fascinating, and I think that people are starting to realize this once again.  After the age of the Super Models in the 80’s and 90’s there was a bit of a lull in the public’s attraction to models but I think that has definitely changed once again.

Below are some of the covers of British Vogue from 2009-2010 which featured models on the covers.

Canadian Model, Daria Werbowy

Russian Model, Sasha Pivovarova

British Model, Georgia Jagger

British Model, Kate Moss who has graced the cover numerous times

British Model, Lily Donaldson

Russian Model, Natalia Vodianova who has also been on the cover many times

Dutch Model, Lara Stone

Any thoughts about the celebrity vs. model controversy?

1 Comment

Filed under Models, VOGUE

One response to “Meet the Models

  1. The models – particularly the ones you have chosen look incredible 😉 ..I prefer them often to the actors – but perhaps the point is we need to be interested in their lives/progress to really place value on their identities.

Leave a Reply

