The Single Most Fabulous Night of the Year

I have been waiting quite a while to write this post, though I do wish I was covering the event from inside the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  Yes, last night was the MET Costume Institute Gala and I cannot even express how much I wish I was there.  It’s not even the vastness of celebrities that make me yearn to go, it is the clothes.  The custom designed gowns, the unique pieces that will only be seen once, the extravagance of the couture.  That is why I want to go, but Joshua Jackson doesn’t hurt either.

Let’s start with the color trends:

Metallics

From left to right; Claire Danes in Burberry, Anne Hathaway in Valentino, Brooke Shields in Michael Kors.  I like Danes and Hathaway’s the best, I think it fits them beautifully and they are both interesting, elegant pieces.

From left to right; Nicole Richie in Marc Jacobs, Donatella Versace in her own design, Anna Wintour in couture Chanel.  While I am not a huge Richie fan, I love the Marc Jacobs dress on her and the Chanel is perfect for Wintour and her slim frame.

Erin Featherston in her own design.

Marion Cotillard in Dior couture.

Sarah Jessica Parker in Halston.

Color:

Christina Hendricks in L'Wren Scott

Naomi Watts in Stella McCartney

Rachel Zoe in Marc Jacobs.

Rachel Weisz in Oscar de la Renta.

I will have more pictures up later in the day.  Including the worst of the evening.

1 Comment

Filed under Celebrities, Things I Love..., VOGUE

One response to “The Single Most Fabulous Night of the Year

  1. delicious, and divine! i love your work. i agree, that these dresses would take hours to pour over to appreciate their designs.. love the metallics!.. and the rich jewel tones – really wonderful! Looking forward to the rest!

Leave a Reply

