Bad Romance

I’ll be honest.  I don’t get it.

I’m not going to try to come up with some excuse for the two of them or try to fathom why they like each other’s work so much, because I really just don’t understand.

(I would, however, love to sit in on a meeting between the two of them, I’m sure it is absolutely hilarious.)

Of course, I am talking about Giorgio Armani and Lady Gaga’s recent love affair.  Which I have cleverly deemed a “Bad Romance”.

When I think of Armani I think, Italian, gray, luxurious fabrics, classic, eternal, stylish.  None of these, in my opinion, relate to the entertaining Lady Gaga experience that I suppose has grown out of being a fad.

She does entertainment art, is brash and loud, ever changing, bright and colorful, and very shocking.  But apparently Giorgio is infatuated with her, maybe it is his old age (he is 75) or he is trying to appeal to a younger audience, but whatever it is I find it strange.

I love partnerships (see Givenchy and Audrey Hepburn, Karl Lagerfeld and Emma Watson) but I am not enchanted by this one, rather confused.

Below are some of the ensembles he custom designed for her.  When will this romance end?

Red Carpet Dress for the Grammy's 2010.

Grammy Performance Ensemble

Grammy Audience Outfit

Bodysuit for the MET Ball

Black Lace Ensemble for the Controversial American Idol Performance

Armani's Sketch for the American Idol Performance

Armani's Sketches for Lady Gaga's Monster Ball Concert Tour

Leave a comment

Filed under Celebrities, Designers

Leave a Reply

