Dear Sarah,

It is public knowledge that I love Sarah Jessica Parker.  She can do no wrong in my eyes.  I don’t think I have ever said a bad thing about SJP.  Until now.  And I honestly cannot believe I am doing this, but fashion takes no prisoners.

Yesterday, I was casually looking on the French Vogue website, like any other girl my age does, when I happened across a picture.  It was a bad picture and an even worse dress.  I wanted to see who was wearing this unattractive dress in public so I innocently clicked on the image.

And then my world came crashing down.

It was Ms. Sarah Jessica Parker.  The creator of Carrie Bradshaw.  Fashion Icon.  Style Maven.  Insert cliche fashion phrase here.

Now, SJP isn’t the only one to blame, the dress was Valentino haute couture, so I suppose some of the blame must rest in the current Valentino designers hands.

To me, it looked like a very well made junior prom dress with poorly done hair and make up.  If she wanted to make this sunshine yellow dress work, I think that the hair needed to be pulled up in a tight bun (which she pulls off so well) and the makeup needed to be a bit brighter, she looks washed out in this image.

Now the dress, with it’s high side slit awkwardly up to her knee and then a long train on the other side, is not good for her (or her fashion image) at all.  I also really don’t like the neckline, I think it makes her look shorter and just completely cuts off her chest.

And now for the picture:

Sarah Jessica Parker in Valentino at the Sex and the City 2 premiere.

I do understand that it is not an ugly dress, it is Valentino, Valentino dresses are very rarely ugly, however this is Sarah Jessica Parker we are talking about, she usually does much better than this.  My problem with the choice is that the dress is not fashion forward, it is not a new fresh designer, it does not scream avant-garde or even fun for that matter. Frankly, I am disappointed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Celebrities, Designers

Leave a Reply

