A Little Lanvin Love

I have a thing for Alber Elbaz.   He is quite possibly the love of my (fashion) life. He can do no wrong in my eyes.  Elbaz is a master.  And he is mine.

Alber Elbaz

I have followed his career for years and have done countless projects on both him and the house of Lanvin while at FIT.  Lanvin (and its head designer, Alber Elbaz) is in my Top Three favorite designers. Ever.  And with his 2011 Resort show it is even more solidified.  I really don’t know how to describe how much I love this collection and how I want each and ever item of clothing hanging in my closet by the count of three!

I went in looking at the show hoping to find a few pieces to show here, and ended up with way too many.  So I then had to edit (remember I do want to be a fashion editor) and narrow down to my absolute favorite pieces.  Granted, this was very difficult, but I feel practice makes perfect, and I need to work on editing daily if I want to be editor-in-chief of Vogue by the time Anna Wintour decides to retire (or Grace Coddington accidentally pushes her out of one of Conde Nast’s windows).

Below are my favorites of the amazing show inspired by South America.  Many of the pieces are reversible or can be worn different ways, which personally I think was ingenious of Elbaz considering the economy.

He also threw some bridal into the mix.  Coco Rocha and Lara Stone can keep Posen and Tisci, Elbaz can design my wedding dress!  I loved them, each and every one.

Elbaz kept Resort fresh and flirty, flashy and fun, which is really what it should be.  These clothes are meant to be worn in St. Tropez, or  on a fabulous tropical island surrounded by colorful birds and beautiful shirtless men.  And though Elbaz can have a tendency to be moody, dark and powerful in his clothing (especially his Fall/Winter) this collection shows a different side of him which is equally as magnificent and creative.

Love Him!

1 Comment

Filed under Designers, Grace Coddington, VOGUE

One response to “A Little Lanvin Love

  1. I appreciate you not going for the hard edit! .. It is a cocktail of emotions and as you’ve mentioned – quite ingenious of him – my favorite examples, although I also would happily take them all are those outfits in black with contrasting accessories, to me they spell sheer and intoxicating beauty.. I am rapt!

Leave a Reply

