La Vie en Rose

If you don’t already know, Marion Cottilard is one of my favorite people on the planet.  And while I do not (regretfully) know her personally, she exudes a likability that is hard to ignore.

I first saw her in Big Fish, one of my favorite movies, and then later in A Good Year, but it wasn’t until I saw her tour de force and Oscar winning performance in La Vie en Rose did myself, and the world really take notice of her.  That year she became the third person in history to win an Oscar for a foreign film, let alone the Best Actress award.  She was also dressed, quite beautifully, by John Galliano, in a stunning white dress which resembled fish scales.  The head designer of Dior loved her so much that she became the face of the Lady Dior campaign.

And for the July Issue of Vogue she is on the cover.  I cannot tell you how happy I was to see her beautiful face on the cover and and not another celebrity.  In my mind Marion Cottilard is an actress, a singer, a humanitarian, but not, as of yet, a celebrity.  While I like Blake Lively, I really do not think that she should be on the cover of Vogue but there she was on the June issue.

It was risky putting Cottilard on the cover, she is not really a household name in America nor is she doing drastic publicity stunts to get her there.  Instead she is charming, French, quirky, and of course an amazing actress.

The pictures from the cover shoot are incredible, the best I have seen in a very long time.  To me, this is what they should look like.  This is what a magazine is meant to do, transport you to a different country or time and make the clothing come alive.

The July Cover.

1 Comment

Filed under Celebrities, Designers, Magazines, Movies, VOGUE

One response to “La Vie en Rose

  1. sabrina

    I totally agree with you that this is a wonderful looking spread!!!

Leave a Reply

