One Lip, Tulip

Let me begin with saying that Dior, in the past, has not been one of my favorite design houses.  I find it too costumey and just not my personal style.  But John Galliano’s past two collections, the Fall/Winter 2010 and the Fall Couture 2010 contain some of the most beautiful clothing I have ever seen.  They have been delicate and feminine, without being cliche.

When I interned at Elle Magazine last semester I was able to watch the runway shows online, and then within days I could touch the clothes that I admired so much.  I   loved it when Dior came in, I remembered the clothes from the collection and handled them with the utmost care, hoping that one day I could wear them myself.

So, obviously, I was very excited to see the Dior couture show, because this is Mr. Galliano’s real stage, where his creativity rules the second you receive the much envied invitation.

His inspiration for this show are tulips, a simple pretty flower, which he was able to turn into anything but simple, and exquisite instead of the requisite “pretty”.  Both the ball gowns at the end of the show and cozy sweater dresses really captured the essence of the flower, and amplified it to couture status.

It was a truly beautiful collection, and I wish I could see the clothes when they come into Elle instead of being stuck in the suburbs.

I edited down the collection to my absolute favorites, you will see that there are still quite a lot. (And yes that is Karlie Kloss opening the show, again).

John Galliano

Leave a comment

Filed under Designers, Magazines, Models

Leave a Reply

