Karl, Where’s the Love?

I really cannot believe I am about to say this, but the truth must come out.  This is like the time when I said that I didn’t like Sarah Jessica Parker’s yellow Valentino dress at her movie premiere.  This is something I do not do very often, but I cannot just ignore it.

The Chanel couture show.  What happened?  Where is the Karl Lagerfeld, I know and love?  The man who gave us:

Mr. Lagerfeld has a habit of making me yearn and lust for his dresses, occasionally dreaming about them and their absolute stunning beauty.  But this couture collection did not.  I was completely and totally underwhelmed, upset even, at the lack of creativity and wonder.  The pieces were pretty and obviously well made, but I do not want to think, “Oh, well isn’t that a nice jacket,” when seeing a show, I want to think, “What can I do to get my hands on it?  Who do I need to distract to sneak backstage and rip it off the model?”  And I did not feel this way about any of the pieces.  And this is Chanel!  One of the single greatest fashion houses in the world.  There were a few that I liked and I have posted them below.

I understand that they are great pieces, that the clothing is wearable and cautious of the uncertain times that we live in.  But I want to be transported from my quiet little sea side town, I want to forget about money, jobs, people, and the world frankly when I see a couture show.

I would really like to hear others opinions about the show, maybe I am way off base, but I have a feeling that I am not alone in this thinking.  (Also, remember that Lagerfeld often does a lot of looks in his collections, I have picked the absolute best, there are over 30 looks not present here.)

There are about 4 things (out of 64 looks) that I loved.  What happened Karl?

1 Comment

Filed under Celebrities, Designers

One response to “Karl, Where’s the Love?

  1. Teena Marcus

    I think it is heart-stoppingly beautiful – from what I have seen here. In terms of both originality, creativity, color and cut – I think it is very sexy, classic of course, and also wearable… Really. 😉

Leave a Reply

