A Little Piece of Spain in Soho

I was in the city on Wednesday, doing various fashion-y things.  I went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to see the most recent costume exhibit titled “American Woman”.  It was beyond amazing, and I think it deserves it’s own post later on.  I also got an amazing Helmut Lang shirt for $30 at a sample sale and a new wallet at Topshop (a store I should really not be allowed in).  And after all of this I went to a styling party at Sol de Ibiza hosted by a fabulous personal stylist/lifestyle consultant I used to intern for, Dale.  Her company is DaleStyle, be sure to check out her amazing website, especially the styling video at: http://www.dalestyle.com/.

So, I walk into Sol de Ibiza, which is at 52 Greene St. in Soho, and they have marcona almonds, so I am immediately hooked.  Don’t judge me, these almonds are one of my favorite things in the entire world and I haven’t had them in such a long time.  The store is effortlessly beach chic, with a great straw ottoman-like seating arrangement in the center and dressing rooms reminiscent of cabanas.  You actually want to try on clothes in them, there is no stark lighting or flimsy curtains here.

After the almonds (okay, and cheese) I walk around the store and instantly fall in love with a bathing suit fit for a Brazilian supermodel, a Ms. Bundchen (or rather Mrs. Brady), perhaps.  It was a deep teal with a huge piece of quartz in the center.

I also really liked this bathing suit, it was also a one piece, and even with its high neckline it was still really sexy and goddess-like.

Then I found the shoes, never a good sign.  I have a deep affinity for espadrilles, I got my first pair from Nordstroms when I was about 11 and have loved them ever since.  And at Sol de Ibiza there were some of the cutest I have ever seen.  I could absolutely picture myself walking to the market to pick up almonds and Manchego cheese in a pair of them.  Here were my three favorites:

These blue cork ones are incredible.  They were denim on the outside, with matching blue suede on the inside, four and a half inches high and, sadly, $395.  But a girl can dream right?

I thought these two pairs of pants were fun, and if I were living somewhere along the Mediterranean I would buy them in a heartbeat.

There were a few items of clothing that I really liked and that was the kaftan and this black lace dress that just had salsa written all over it.

I am a huge scarf person, I have a mini collection of vintage ones, and I thought the store had great scarves with really vibrant colors.  I might need to invest in one of them, if I could ever decide between the colors.

This one is actually a towel on the inside.

There was also a small collection of jewelry, and their hamsa/evil eye bracelets caught my eye.  I am (supposed to be) getting one for my birthday so I didn’t buy one, but I loved the variety of colors they had, and how clean and simple they were.

Leave a comment

Filed under Designers, Models, Websites

Leave a Reply

