American Woman

Every summer I take a trip into New York to see the Costume Institute’s most recent exhibition at the Metropolitian Museum of Art.  And last Wednesday I had a chance to see the newest one, sponsored by Conde Nast and Gap, the title is “American Woman: Fashioning A National Identity.”

Personally, I think all of the exhibits they put on are beyond incredible.  The first one I went to was all Chanel, and I happened to bump into Tim Gunn so that was exciting.  This one was beautiful.  I loved seeing the changes in American styles and how they developed in the beginning part of the 20th Century.  The clothes were always stunning but in different ways, and completely different from each other from decade to decade.

My favorites were the Bohemians and the Flappers, followed closely by the glamorous movie stars of the 30’s.  There was one dress that I was instantly drawn to in the Flapper room, and of course, it was Lanvin.

If you can get to the city to see it I really recommend it, if not for the clothes, to see the psychology behind how clothing was impacted by society and vice versa.

Exhibition Poster

The Athletic Gibson Girl.

Bohemians

Close Up of Bohemians

Flapper

Old Hollywood Glamour of the 30's

Glamour

Close Up of Hollywood

3 Comments

Filed under Designers, Things I Love..., VOGUE

3 responses to “American Woman

  1. Wow that close up of the Old Hollywood is beautiful, the way the fabric falls into those pleats is amazing! I wish I could go to New York to see this! x

  2. sabrina

    is it just me or is there an asian influence in the bohemians?

  3. Oh my…

    I would love, love, LOVE to visit this exhibition – and now pity myself for having to live in London and not New York!

    Thank you for sharing such beautiful and inspiring pictures.

    Sarah x

    http://stylesouk.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

