Shabby Chic

I just got an apartment in New York City with three of my roommates, which I am, of course, very excited about.  However, it has now placed a great deal of stress on me to make my side of the room perfect.

My home decor style changes quite often.  Last year I liked graphic prints on everything from plates to duvet covers, courtesy of Ikea.  But now I love Rachel Ashwell Shabby Chic.  This probably started with my more recent infatuation with anything and everything vintage and antique so naturally I would be drawn to Ms. Ashwell’s design aesthetics.

All my furniature for the room is vintage totaling about $80 total for a bed, a dresser, and a vanity table.  I bought Indian block print tapestries and table cloths and I also have my mothers vintage patchwork quilt.

The key to designing a room this way is to keep it clean and crisp, with plenty of white, so that it doesn’t look like a hermit cat lady.  There needs to be enough feminine detail to keep it looking young and fresh.  To do this I painted my dresser pale mint green, the bed white and the vanity table with have a white table cloth with baby pink roses on top.

These are my favorite Rachel Ashwell rooms:

I move soon, so when the room is finally to my liking, and I deem it worthy enough to stand beside these pictures I will upload a few.

2 Comments

Filed under Things I Love...

2 responses to “Shabby Chic

  1. Teena Marcus

    That is brilliant! I am quite in favor of her ‘humble however ornate’ 🙂 design aesthetic too, I wish you all the best in achieving your dreams, beginning with your abode – and a quirky dash of humour is appreciated – I might add, where natural light doesn’t abound, do indeed add lamps, lanterns, mirrors, and such reflective devices, of course, including crisp, fresh white (or vanilla accents)….

  2. Fantastic shopping finding all those lovely Rachel Ashwell Shabby Chic pieces…and a bit of luck thrown in, too!

    Hera

Leave a Reply

