Paris Je T’aime-Day 5

This is kind of like the Tipping Point in Paris Fashion Week.  The days following Day 5 are the heavy hitters fashion wise.  Today is John Galliano, Celine, and Givenchy, and the next three days are when the biggest and oldest fashion houses show their collections.

As almost everyone knows, Celine is up there with Lanvin to me.  Fashion doesn’t get any cleaner or minimalist chic than Celine.  Phoebe Philo is a descendent of the fashion gods in my eyes, and her last collection was so inspiring and beautiful, that if it wasn’t so pathetic I would have cried and every night until I owned the complete collection.  This season was still lovely, perfectly summery and Parisian in my eyes, but I don’t know if anything can top that last collection.

John Galliano, like Jean Paul Gaultier, creates amazingly fun fashion shows, with unrealistic clothing that could hardy ever be worn in public.  But his last few evening gowns were to die for.  Their sheerness was on the verge of unwearable but he walks the line so well no one cares and I would wear them every day if I could.

The Givenchy couture collection shown this summer was the best Givenchy collection I have seen.  To me, this one fell short of the extravagance and beauty of the last show but there were still some pieces which would look amazing in my closet.

Celine

John Galliano

Givenchy

Leave a comment

Filed under Designers, Fashion Shows

Leave a Reply

