Daphne + FIT

Daphne Guinness and FIT have a healthy loving relationship, and this couldn’t make me happier. I went to the Japan Now exhibit currently at FIT, curated by the fabulous Valerie Steele, and was pleasantly surprised. The exhibit was impressive to say the least. Japanese fashion is not my favorite but I loved seeing the minimalistic avant garde design sense of Yojhi Yamamoto and Issey Miyake next to that of Japanese Lolitas and CosPlay characters. I thought the mix of these two vastly different styles was great.

But what I liked the most was this sign.
See that sentence at the bottom?  Yes, the last one that says, “Gift of Daphne Guinness”.  There were two of these but the guard stopped me before I could take a picture of the second one.

Daphne Guinness donates to FIT, to my school, to my institute of higher learning.

She is one of my fashion icons. Period.

And it gets even better than this.  The Fall 2011 exhibit at FIT is going to be Daphne Guinness’s couture collection.  I died a little when I heard this (in a good way).

I think it is so unbelievably generous of her to show her world renowned closet to the world.  One that she has been building for decades.  One filled with Alexander McQueen originals and Chanel and Vivienne Westwood…

Just one more reason to look forward to next Fall.

Leave a comment

Filed under Celebrities, Designers, Things I Love...

Leave a Reply

