An Ode to the Seventies

Marc Jacobs has inspired me once again.  Though this time it was to, dare I say it, brush my hair.

I have the kind of hair where if you brush it rather than comb it, it looks like I stepped out of the 1970’s and was electrocuted, at the same time.  It has the ability to be perfectly straight, and hold curls and waves very well, but bring a brush anywhere near it and all semblance of tidiness goes away.

But for Marc Jacob’s Spring 2011 show, the models had hair like that.  It was huge, very Grace Coddington-esque, and quite fun and beautiful.  I loved that it was very free and wild but the models still looked polished.

So then today, while bored at home (in NYC I would have done something productive, like shopping or visiting a museum), I decided it was necessary to brush my hair and give it a shot.

I kind of love it?

I’m not sure if it is socially acceptable given the fact I am not a major fashion icon (yet) or even fashion personality, but I feel very happy-go-lucky with it, and it’s surprisingly soft.

So now I am hoping the 70’s will come back and our days of straightening our hair every morning can be a thing of the past!

 

Marc’s Way:

My Way:

2 Comments

Filed under Designers, Fashion Shows, My Clothes

2 responses to “An Ode to the Seventies

  1. UMMMMMMM I KINDA LOVE IT FOR YOU! very suiting! keep it and try it, maybe not in your home home, but your nyc home! Miss you!

  2. Ryann…

    You are so God-damn cute!

    I’m ‘afflicted’ with similar hair to your own and have waged chemical war on it for the better part of twenty years in the vain hope it would one day become sleek and Carine Roitfeld poker straight.

    I love this look on you. It’s confident, striking and, as you say, very Grace… which can be no bad thing!

    Hope you had a happy holiday,

    Sarah x

Leave a Reply

