The Tourist

Yesterday was my last day in New York City for about two weeks, and I decided to brave it uptown for a chance to see the windows.  I usually hate going to touristy places like Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Herald Square, Union Square, etc. for fear of being trampled or eaten alive, or something of that nature.

But the Bergdorf Goodman windows were calling, no, beckoning me.  I had to see them before I left, those and the Barney’s windows on Madison Ave. are my favorites.

I had heard excellent things about Bergdorf’s windows and had seen images online, but nothing is like seeing the huge elaborate windows which took thousands of painstaking hours to make, in person.  I felt I owed it to the stores and the designers to make my way up there and fight the throngs of tourists clogging 5th and Madison Avenue.

It was completely worth it.  The Bergdorf windows were absolutely stunning.  They have an amazing ability to mix in the gorgeous clothes which were shown last February into these whimsical designs and creations and make a cohesive window which does not over power the clothing.  Even with moving parts, music, glitter, horses, telescopes and crocodiles with diamonds in their eyes, the clothes are still front and center, creating a deep desire to own them and live in this wonderful fantasy world as they do.

The Barney’s windows have a special place in my heart as well, because I am such a foodie and the store was wishing everyone a “Foodie Holiday”.  Because of that I loved the giant papier mache chefs in snuggies and Paula Deen with butter in her pockets, and Anthony Bourdain with a smug look on his tanned face.  The Illy window was extremely well done and could have easily looked like a Project Runway challenge gone awry, but with Simon Doonan leading the team of window dressers, it looked beautiful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

