I See Paris (Part 2: D-L)

I’ve been putting off a Dior post for a few weeks now.  I of course have an opinion about what happened but I don’t really know how to express how I feel about the Galliano incident.  John Galliano is a brilliant designer.  He understands fashion, women’s bodies, fabric manipulation, and drama.  However, I am Jewish, and what he said is obviously appalling and hurtful and I hate that his tenure at Dior and reputation in the fashion industry had to end like this.  Honestly, I am just sad.  That simple word really expresses perfectly how I feel.  I am sad that his time at Dior is up, that he will not design stunning clothes (for a while at least), and most of all I am sad about his feelings towards Jews.  That said his last collection for Dior was, of course, gorgeous.

This Hermes collection is Christophe Lemaire’s first for the house.  It was a bit shaky at the end, but the leather pieces (what Hermes is known for) were luscious and perfect for fall.  I am excited to see what he does for his upcoming collections.

This presentation (the actual fashion show was canceled) was John Galliano’s smallest to date.  The above dresses are my favorite from the line.  His separates really aren’t my style but his dresses always are!

As you can tell from the five photos above I have both a leather and Loewe obsession.  Those two semi-bomber jackets with fur collars are screaming my name and I have never wanted a leather shift dress more.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Designers, Fashion Shows

2 responses to “I See Paris (Part 2: D-L)

  1. sabrina

    i appreciate your comments and honesty. i feel similarly and love Hermes.

  2. Love Galliano! I like the layout of the post by the way. it’s different

Leave a Reply

